Skip to content

Wheat Harvest

Xu Tong

Release year: 2008

Run time: 98 mins

Film type: Documentary


The film shows the life of Niu Hongmiao, a 20 year-old country girl who works as a prostitute in Beijing. Around harvest time, she goes back home to Dingxing County, Hebei Province, to help her parents and to care for her severely ill father. She also leaves all her savings behind. Xu Tong sketches a picture of the sex industry in Beijing, showing the loyalty and dignity of the men and women who work in it. A hidden world emerges before the camera with its own language, rituals and rules, centred on strong, self-assured women, who are, just like the subject, rare in Chinese films and documentaries.


Director biography

Xu Tong, born in Beijing in 1965. In 1983, attended the Journalism and Photography programme at the Communication University of China. Xu currently resides and works in Beijing. He made documentaries "Wheat Harvest," "Fortune Telling," and "Shattered" collectively referred to as the Nomad Trilogy. Subsequently he completed the documentaries "The Fourth Brother" and "Cut Out the Eyes." He has participated in numerous domestic and international film festivals, receiving awards. In 2011, he was awarded as the "Cultural China Person of the Decade" by the Oriental Morning Post. In 2013, the novel "Treasure Island" was published by the Yangtze Literature and Art Publishing House.