Skip to content

They were Made Flesh

Xu Tong

Release year: 2020

Run time: 437 mins

Film type: Documentary


The film is about the final life stage between tears and laughter of the elders in a nursing home in northeast China. At the same time, the director also becomes an actor of this life drama.


Director biography

Xu Tong was born in 1965 in Beijing, and majored in news photography at the Communications University of China. He describes himself as a vagabond filmmaker, as his filmmaking focuses on those who live on the margins of the society, often outside the law, in northern China. He uses his camera to express sympathy and even empathy with the marginality and defiant nonconformity of many of his subjects.